St Benet’s Minster

20160313_123327Situated in the picturesque Waveney Valley, the parish was established towards the end of the 19th century by the Benedictine monks of Downside Abbey, near Bath in Somerset.

The land was provided by John George Kenyon, owner of the Gillingham Estate, who also established a second church, Our Lady of Perpetual Succour, (OLPS) at Gillingham in Norfolk, about one mile outside Beccles. Please click here to read all about OLPS.

The area covered by the parish extends from Haddiscoe in the north to Brampton in the south; Barnby to the east and Kirby Cane to the west. 

The Diocese of East Anglia was established by Pope Paul VI in 1976 and consists of the counties of Suffolk, Norfolk and Cambridgeshire. Formerly this area was part of the Diocese of Northampton (Established in 1850)
.
A very comprehensive history of the early days of the parish, written in the context of church music, the changes in the liturgy and of the role of the “Vowles” pipe organ, was written in 2012 by Richard Jones.  Please click here to see the full document.